Call Today: (201) 445-8381
Call Today: (201) 445-8381

What are the Different Types of Alimony?

  • The different types of alimony in NJ are open durational alimony, limited duration alimony, reimbursement alimony and rehabilitative alimony.  
  • Reimbursement alimony and rehabilitative can be awarded in addition to either open durational alimony or limited duration alimony.
  • Open durational alimony applies when the duration of the marriage is 20 or more years.  
  • There is an agreed upon term when limited duration alimony is awarded.  
  • If a party needs schooling or additional money to get back on their feet, rehabilitative alimony may be awarded.  
  • Reimbursement alimony may be awarded in the case where on party pays for the education and/or cost of school for the other party and the other party leaves the paying party soon after payment or graduation from school.

Contact Us

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message

Connect With Us: